sometimes i need a fast forward button…

Consider yourself saved. AND you’re welcome!
My original post was quite…depressing!

Let’s just say, the summer cannot get here fast enough. This has been one of the most difficult times in my not-so-very-long life! (That’s my way of saying, I’m still young.)

And without belaboring over a bunch of things I can, and some, I cannot change, I am just going to say…many people have disappointed me this year. While I am a good friend, if you treat me without care, I go. No need to stick around for fair-weather people. So, in my sorting out process of the original post, I decided to give up social media for…I don’t know…a while! Oh, wait, I’m not giving up my little blog just the other stuff!

I read a recent post about running–solo or with others? It such an interesting question to me. When I started, I’ll be quite honest, I ran because of this guy. I hadn’t run since high school gym class until one October when I ran with a local running club and by December, this guy in the club was talking to me, messaging me…and then I had the Cherry Blossom Ten-Miler to train for…he actually trained me. I would not have run if he didn’t have me out running the trails every weekend. I didn’t care too much for it. Complained and whined. I could have earned an Oscar for my performance. I even lied convincingly! He would ask how my weekdays training runs were going and I said great and even gave distances…for trainings I never completed! HAHA! So, I wouldn’t have trained or realized my potential without a partner.

But, once that race was completed and I registered for my first half marathon, I realized I COULDN’T RUN with HIM! I think he thought he was being nice but I never wanted to be fast…just a finisher. That my goal…finish the race. I think (but I don’t know for a fact) he wanted to train me for speed. It was the beginning of the end. THANK HEAVENS!

Then, what?! To run, or not to run, that was the question. I was still running with the running club but did I need to race more distances? More races? YES! I had more in me, but would I run on my own? History pointed to a big flashing neon sign that said NO! But, you know what, I did run! It was the whining and complaining that was history! I trained myself for five half marathons and a full marathon in 2012.

And, now I am back in training mode! I’ve put in some longer distances. I didn’t meet my goal of 18 miles today…but close. Phewy! But, it’s no longer a fear that I cannot do it. I can. I’ve proved that time and time again. And, for me, there’s something completely satisfying about running over my own finish line (front door) ON MY OWN. Personal victory!

Now, if I could just find that fast forward button!

I don't know where I found this photo but I LOVE IT!
I don’t know where I found this photo but I LOVE IT!

4 thoughts on “sometimes i need a fast forward button…

  1. todkehrli 04.27.2013 / 20:13

    I think I get what you’re saying. I love my running friends, but I train alone and I cherish my training runs. I need that time on my own. For a lot of reasons. A big part of it is to prove to myself that I can do it!

    Happy running!

    • runninrollinrunnin 04.28.2013 / 07:00

      Yes! I appreciate my running friends but when it comes to training I like to own it myself!

      Happy Running!

  2. Ja @Ja on the RUN 04.29.2013 / 13:58

    Me too, I like training on my own. It’s hard coz the group of friends I am running with have different pace. Though it’s good coz they motivate me. But sometimes, I just want to be on my own. :)

    Have a great weekend.

    • runninrollinrunnin 04.30.2013 / 21:07

      I’m in a similar situation…different pace than my friends and I like the alone time for thinking!

      Happy Running to You!

Leave a comment